Blog Tour: Spy on History + Giveaway

Thanks to Hamilton and our constant National Park Service Adventures, my daughter is currently fascinated by American history. Living near Washington, DC, has only stoked that interest. In fact, we recently had the opportunity to sleep over at the National Archives and literally spent the night right next to the Constitution. My daughter couldn’t have been more thrilled.

It’s no surprise, then, that Spy on History: Mary Bowser and the Civil War Spy Ring is right up our alley at the moment. It’s therefore a thrill to take part in this blog tour in support of the new book by Enigma Alberti (a pseudonym for a group of authors writing the Spy on History series) and illustrated by Tony Cliff (Delilah Dirk).

Continue reading

Blog Tour: Children’s Book Week with Raina Telgemeier

tumblr_o67bi7TWds1un2wspo1_500

We’re thrilled to help First Second Books once again celebrate Children’s Book Week (which ran from May 2-8 this year), with a blog tour celebrating both their amazing books and the effort to get more books into more kids’ hands.

This year, we celebrate how amazing books for kids and teenagers are! We’re delighted to be celebrating the awesomeness of kids comics this week by taking part in a blog tour that features a star-studded line-up of graphic novelists, including friends of the Roarbots Gene Luen Yang, Faith Erin Hicks, Mike Maihack, and Maris Wicks (see below for schedule and links).

In these interviews, they’re talking about the creative process, their inspiration, and the books they love. We’re thrilled to host John Patrick Green (author of Hippopotamister) chatting with the incomparable Raina Telgemeier.

Continue reading

Blog Tour: Evie Brooks is Marooned in Manhattan

EvieBrooksMaroonedinManhattenjpg_feature

Today, it’s an absolute pleasure to welcome Sheila Agnew to The Roarbots as we take part in a blog tour for her new book from Pajama Press, Evie Brooks is Marooned in Manhattan.

Previously published in the UK, the book was recently released here in the States and is the first in the Evie Brooks series. The second book, Evie Brooks in Central Park Showdown, is scheduled to release in April 2016.

We’re delighted to take part in this blog tour and to have Sheila provide a guest post for you all. Please be sure to check out the previous stops on the tour:

Continue reading

Blog Tour: Human Body Theater

HBT_blogtour5 (1)

Today, we’re taking part in another wonderful blog tour to benefit one of the excellent new titles from First Second Books. On tap is Maris Wicks’s Human Body Theater, a spellbinding nonfiction graphic novel that takes readers on a tour of the human body.

Follow your master of ceremonies through Human Body Theater, where you’ll get a theatrical revue of each and every biological system of the human body. Starting out as a skeleton, our tour guide puts on a new layer of her costume (her body) with each “act.” By turns goofy and intensely informative, Human Body Theater is incredibly entertaining.

We last caught up with Maris Wicks (and this book) during a previous blog tour in which she was interviewed by Jorge Aguirre and Rafael Rosado for Children’s Book Week. If you’ve got a few minutes, go take a look. It sheds some light on her background and motivation and how the book came to be.

Continue reading

Blog Tour: Fable Comics

FableComics BlogTourBanner

Today, it’s my absolute pleasure to take part in the Fable Comics blog tour hosted by First Second Books / Macmillan Kids.

In the tradition of Nursery Rhyme Comics and Fairy Tale Comics, First Second and editor Chris Duffy bring us Fable Comics–a phenomenal anthology of 28 different fables from almost as many artists. Featuring the enormous talent of cartoonists such as James Kochalka, Jaime Hernandez, Maris Wicks, Liniers, and Roger Langridge, Fable Comics presents stories of gods, animals, and humans who get themselves into and (sometimes) out of trouble…with the requisite moral at the end.

As part of the blog tour, The Roarbots is pleased to present the eighth installment in the book (and the tour): “The Old Man and Death” by Eleanor Davis.

FableComicsRGB

Continue reading

Addison’s Tales: Tom Thorneval, Dream Merchant Extraordinaire

tales

With the release of the first paperback from the Addison’s Tales musical storyworld this month, we took a moment to catch up with the man behind the man behind the storyworld. Jerome Goerke has been working to bring the tales and songs of C. E. Addison to the public as audio books, ebooks, apps, and now paperbacks as well. The writer himself proved tricky to track down. We asked why.

Who is C. E. Addison and why doesn’t he answer his emails?

Yes, sorry about that. I have to apologise on his behalf. I am not completely sure he actually knows how to use the email we set up for him. I use the post to reach him and always receive a handwritten reply. I can tell you this though: He began writing after spending most of his life working as a gardener at Calladin’s Old Town History Museum. As for who he is, I can say he’s a very reclusive but well-humoured elderly gentleman who writes musical tales of high fantasy. He says he purchases the characters from a character merchant called Mack, and wrote about their first meeting in The Dream. Sometimes those characters sing, so he includes a few music sheets with his manuscripts. He generally keeps himself to himself, but occasionally reveals his thoughts at his Goodreads blog. More than that I don’t really know. He’s not exactly forthcoming with info, being quite shy, and he’s flat-out refused going on a book tour. Which leaves me doing most of the leg work. It’s not as if I haven’t got enough to do …

Continue reading

Blog Tour: Eden West with Pete Hautman

EdenWest

Today, I’m thrilled to be joined by Pete Hautman, the extraordinarily talented writer of Eden West, out now from Candlewick Press. Pete’s 2004 novel, Godless, won the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature. Eden West covers similar ground in that both books deal with the interplay between religion and control.

However, where Godless was about inventing a new religion, Eden West is about the world of cults. It is about the 12-square-mile land of Nodd, a “paradise” run by the Grace. Specifically, it’s about 17-year-old Jacob who knows nothing else about the World, except that it’s wicked and doomed to destruction. That is, until he meets Lynna and the two test their belief in the Grace with the temptations of the World.

It’s a tough YA book that tackles some serious issues in a thoughtful, respectful way. Thankfully, Pete Hautman also knows how to laugh. Which is a good thing, because for his blog tour stop here at the Roarbots, I decided to throw him some curveballs.

Continue reading

Blog Tour: Kids Comics Q&A with Maris Wicks

KidsComicQuestions TourBanner

Today, I have the privilege and honor of being a stop on the Kids Comics Q&A blog tour. The tour is sponsored by First Second Books and cosponsored by the Children’s Book Council, Every Child a Reader, and the Comic Book Legal Defense Fund. Talk about good company!

This year, Free Comic Book Day officially kicked off Children’s Book Week (May 4-10, 2015), and even though that’s past tense at this point, that shouldn’t stop you from exploring and celebrating all the joy that children’s books provide. So, please, click through to some of those links above and check out all the great stuff that’s available at each.

KidsComicSponsored BlogTourBanner

The Kids Comics Q&A blog tour is meant to celebrate the many fantastic creators who are writing and drawing some downright incredible “comics for kids.” Among the many brilliant participants are several friends of The Roarbots, including Kazu Kibuishi, Jeffrey Brown, Frank Cammuso, Gene Luen Yang, Mike Maihack, Andy Runton, and Ben Hatke!

Continue reading

Blog Tour: Last of the Sandwalkers

Sandwalkers BlogTourBanner

Today, we’ve got a bit of a treat. Jay Hosler is a biology professor and cartoonist, and lucky for us, he’s combined those two things with spectacular results!

His newest graphic novel, Last of the Sandwalkers, was just released from First Second, and it is phenomenal. It takes you on a journey inside an intricate society of beetles, and believe me when I tell you: it’s well worth the journey.

I’ll be doing a full review of the book in the coming days, but today I’m more than happy to turn it over to Jay! The Roarbots is the penultimate stop on his blog tour, which has been amazing in that each stop has featured a different beetle.

Therefore, without further ado, take it away Jay….

Continue reading